Writers to Worship

Writers to Worship

I am remembering this time before I knew you, and then I knew you, and then you died. It makes the parentheses within which I lived most of my life. Not knowing you, knowing you, and then you died. Twenty-seven years. A long time. You introduced my kids to a dining room table, you liked to joke proudly. Sometimes we sang songs. You were impressed. I knew the words to everything. When we were together I remember my bedside book for years was How to Stay Alive in the Woods. “Anyone Can Build A Lean-to,” my favorite chapter. All you needed were two forked sticks and a pole. I studied the diagram and watched your face. I looked at the woods. They were right outside the door.
Abigail Thomas-Safekeeping: Some True Stories from a Life

Leave a Reply

